The Festival

Each year the second weekend in May thousands of book lovers, readers, writers, publishers, academics, scholars, adults, and children converge on downtown Greensboro for the annual Greensboro Bound Literary Festival. We create a space for readers and writers to come together and share stories and experiences. We hope that by providing a platform for dialogue and discussion we can create a better understanding of and empathy for the human condition. The authors and topics presented at Greensboro Bound span a broad swath of interests and subject matter, including the LGBTQ experience, speculative fiction, immigrant narratives, social justice, memoir, and romance… just to name a few.  Our author panels and discussions are complimented by puppet shows, a children’s opera, character parades, artists, and musical presentations.

Greensboro Bound has brought more than 150 authors to Greensboro in the past two years, with another 50+ slated to appear this May. In 2019 nearly 4,000 people attended the Festival, a 24% increase from our first year!

We’ve hosted the likes of:

  • Nikki Giovanni
  • Zadie Smith
  • Daniel Pink
  • Ani DiFranco
  • Carmen Maria Machado, National Book Award Finalist
  • Kevin C. Powers, National Book Award Finalist
  • Rebecca Makkai, National Book Award Finalist
  • Lee Smith
  • Fred Chappell
  • John Shelton

Children’s and YA authors:

  • Alicia D. Williams, Newberry Award Winnder
  • Kelly Starling Lyons, Caldecott Award Winner for Illustrator Daniel Minter
  • Matt Myers

… and many more!